Celestial Recognitions

The title of my blog comes from an email a friend sent to me a couple of years ago. I had gone out to beautiful Red Rocks in Colorado to see three nights of shows by Furthur, which at that time was as close to an incarnation of the Grateful Dead as you could get. It was September. From back in D.C. my friend sent me this message:

The Fall Equinox will occur between the Friday and Saturday Furthur shows.  In Denver, it will be precisely 8:49 am on Saturday.  So be sure to include a some extra celestial recognition in your usual pagan rituals!

My friend’s words really stuck with me, because I felt I WAS celebrating pagan rituals, regularly in my life, although I was not always putting that name to them. For a long time my inherent personal spirituality had drawn me toward pagan religion and earth-based practices. I first read Scott Cunningham’s Wicca for the Solitary Practitioner when I was thirteen- I had to sneak around with it at my Catholic school, and to this day I don’t know how my friend and fellow Catholic school student managed to get her hands on it and share it with me. Since then these practices have continued to call me back- a call to be in touch with the earth, to revere the silver moon, to celebrate the change of the seasons.

Almost 20 years later, I have only recently begun to recognize these callings as a form of paganism and to explore them openly in the context of a community here in Washington, D.C. I want to write about and share my experience, because to me it is beautiful. I don’t take myself too seriously- laughing is one of the great gifts of life! And things so rarely go according to plan. My aspiration is simply to be more aware every day, to celebrate ritual to strengthen that awareness, to know myself and to attune to the energy of the universe. Welcome to my blog!

Leave a Reply

